Njal Stormcaller – Rune Priest

When it comes to Librarians/Psychics, the Space Wolves “version of them” are Rune Priests.  My favourite Rune Priest is Njal Stormcaller:

Space Wolves - Njal Stormcaller

Njal Stormcaller and his two wolf bodyguard.

I believe I’d nailed the dry brushing effect by the time I painted Njal 🙂  This is the first time I’d painted “runes” on a model, and I remember thinking that they were “quite tricky”.    I also decided to remove the banner from the model, as it kept getting in the way (when moving him across the battlefield).  Its been quite some time since I’ve used him in battle, especially as there appears to be no special rules for him in later versions of the Space Wolves Codex (at least the version I have).  I remember one spell he cast in a battle:  a “crusher” spell which destroyed an Imperial Assassin 🙂  Generally, I don’t like going up against a Librarian/Psychic/Rune Priest in hand-to-hand combat, as they always seem to have extra dice rolls – especially if you happen to be a Blood Angels Librarian with Quickening!

Leave a comment